Call for Papers


General Co-Chairs
Pedram Mohseni, Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University, USA
Dustin J. Tyler, Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University, USA

Technical Program Co-Chairs
Maysam Ghovanloo, Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Timothy Constandinou, Ph.D., Imperial College London, UK
Jun Ohta, Ph.D., Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Important Dates

Monday, April 23, 2018
Special Session Proposal Deadline

Monday, June 25, 2018
Regular Paper Submission Deadline

Monday, July 16, 2018
Live Demo Submission Deadline

Monday, August 13, 2018
Author Notification Date

Friday, August 31, 2018
Author Registration/Final Paper Submission Deadline

BioCAS 2018 is a premier international forum for presenting the interdisciplinary research and development activities at the crossroads of medicine, life sciences, physical sciences and engineering that shape tomorrow’s medical devices and healthcare systems.

This conference brings together members of our communities to broaden their knowledge in emerging areas of research at the interface of the life sciences and the circuits and systems engineering. The three-day single-track program for BioCAS 2018 is multidisciplinary in topics including but not limited to:

Biomedical Technologies
  • Assistive, Rehabilitation, and Quality of Life Technologies
  • Biofeedback, Neuromodulation, and Closed-Loop Systems
  • Bio-Inspired and Neuromorphic Circuits and Systems
  • Biosensor Devices and Interface Circuits
  • Biotelemetry and Energy Harvesting/Scavenging Circuits and Systems
  • Body Area/Sensor Network and Wireless/Wearable Health Monitoring
  • Electronics for Neuroscience
  • Implantable Medical Electronics
  • Lab-on-Chip and BioMEMS
  • Point-of-Care Technologies for Healthcare
Biomedical Applications
  • Biomedical Imaging and Image Processing
  • Biosignal Recording, Processing, and Machine Learning
  • Genomics and Systems Biology
  • Human-Machine Interfaces
  • Medical Information Systems and Bioinformatics
Submission Guidelines

The complete 4-page paper (in standard IEEE double-column format), including the title, authors’ names, affiliations and e-mail addresses, as well as a short abstract and an optional demonstration video link (3 minute max) are requested. Papers must be submitted electronically in PDF format through

Keynote Speakers

Michael Roukes, Ph.D.
Robert M. Abbey Professor of Physics, Applied Physics, and Biological Engineering
California Institute of Technology, USA

Andrew DeHennis, Ph.D.
Director, Engineering, Research & Development
Senseonics, Inc., USA

Utkan Demirci, Ph.D.
Professor of Radiology and Electrical Engineering
Stanford University School of Medicine, USA